12th June 2018 – Results as reported this week

Bradley Stoke 10k on Sunday was the penultimate round in the Thornbury RC Road Racing Championship and 16 Thornbury runners made it to the starting line in search of points and quick times.

The Bradley Stoke course is a deceiving one, with a mixture of fast tarmac sections, followed by a series of off-road paths and inclines, making it an interesting challenge for the runners. 

Dylan Roberts is preparing for Ironman Wales later in the year and showed he is in flying form as he finished 11th overall in an impressive 37:52 mins. Nick Langridge was several postcodes ahead of his competition in the V65 age category and 44th overall in 43:41 mins, with the fast finishing Paul Thomas only 5 seconds behind Nick in 45th place and 4th V50. Ross Phillips was 67th in 46:04 mins.

First woman for the club was Colette Jackson who was 10th female and 97th overall. Clare Watt was next, only 1 place behind in the women’s field and 101st overall. Both recorded excellent results in their age group, Colette finishing 2nd in V40s and Clare 2nd in V55s.

Bradley Stoke FC’s Manager Jon Welsh guided his team to 7th place in the league this season but was wearing Thornbury RC’s colours on Sunday and finished in 166th place in 51:03 mins.

Other results on the day included Hugh McPherson 133rd 49:03 mins, Mike Bennewitz 162nd 50:54 mins, Jay Bartley 197th 52:29 mins, Samantha Prescott 239th 54:46 mins, Anthony Yates 297th 57:38 mins, Rachel Murphy 375th 1 hour 43 mins, Suzy Cundy 391st 1 hour 1:54 mins, Magda Johnson 480th 1 hour 7:15 mins and Rebecca Dunsford 507th 1 hour 10:59 mins.

With only 1 round to go in the TRC road racing championships Nick Langridge and Colette Jackson are leading the way.

Laura Orna was at Pomphrey Hill parkrun and beat her previous best time by over a minute finishing in 2nd place amongst the women and 22nd finisher overall in 21:50 mins.

Chris Foley finished in 25:20 mins at Minehead parkrun. There were 8 Thornbury RC runners at their home parkrun and all 8 set new personal best times. Martin Coyle was leading the way with 23:09 mins, followed by Mike Bennewitz in 25:57 mins, Richard Illingworth 29:48 mins, Nigel Hale 30:20 mins, Rachel Townsley 33:34 mins, Sylvia Fox 39:30 mins, Sue Pascoe 39:31 mins and Terry Robinson 45:50 mins.


Please follow and like us: